Skip to main content

Wellington Pride Name Side for Final Home Game



Wellington Pride Head Coach Fusi Feaunati has named his side to take on the Hawkes Bay Tui, in the team’s last home game of the 2023 regular season.


In the forward pack, Jaydah Timu is the only change, with Maddie Feaunati swapping to the openside in place of Sophie Irving.


Milly Mackey earns a start at halfback, with Fa’alua Tugaga dropping to the bench. Injury forces a backline reshuffle, Justine McGregor pairing with Drenna Falaniko in the midfield, and Ivana Samani earning a start at fullback.


On the bench, Tawyn Burgess and Leah Conley make long-awaited returns to the side, in their first appearance of the season.


Feaunati is hoping this weekend will be the step up in performance the side are looking for.


“The last couple of weeks we haven’t quite been at the level we would like to be, but we’re confident this weekend we can put the performance out there and kick start a run at the back end of the season.”

Last weekend’s front row remains unchanged, with Angelica Schwencke and Lavinia Lea propping, Valini Vaka earns another start at hooker.


Captain Jackie Patea-Fereti and vice-captain Joanah Ngan-Woo again combine in the second row.


Jaydah Timu makes her first start of the season at blindside flanker, Maddie Feaunati shifts to the openside to replace Sophie Irving, and the damaging ball running ability of Nina Foaese at number eight rounds out an explosive loose-forward trio.


Milly Mackey starts at halfback after three games off the bench, Tamara Ruaporo will again wear the #10 jersey after an impressive outing last weekend.


Justine McGregor returns to the starting lineup once again, partnering in the midfield with Drenna Falaniko.


Harmony Kautai and Lyric Faleafaga are on a wing each, with Ivana Samani starting at fullback.


On the bench, Petrina Foaese, Barbra Taumoli and Kelly Laumalili-Tuiatua provide front row cover. Ashlyn Pescini and Leah Conley round out the forward reserves, Conley returning to the Pride setup after a debut in 2012.


 Fa’alua Tugaga drops to the bench as Mackey is elevated to start, Tawny Burgess, like Conley, returns to the Pride set up. Sydnee Wilkins rounds out the 23.


The Pride take on the Hawkes Bay Tui this Sunday August 6th at the Hutt Rec, kicking off at 12:05pm. The match will also be live on Sky Sport.


Wellington Pride team to take on Hawkes Bay:

  1. Angelica Schwencke
  2. Valini Vaka
  3. Lavinia Lea
  4. Jackie Patea-Fereti ©
  5. Joanah Ngan-Woo (vc)
  6. Jaydah Timu
  7. Maddie Feaunati
  8. Nina Foaese
  9. Milly Mackey
  10. Tamara Ruaporo
  11. Harmony Kautai
  12. Justine McGregor
  13. Drenna Falaniko
  14. Lyric Faleafaga
  15. Ivana Samani
  16. Petrina Foaese
  17. Barbra Taumoli
  18. Kelly Laumalili-Tuiatua
  19. Ashlyn Pescini
  20. Leah Conley
  21. Fa’alua Tugaga
  22. Tawny Burgess
  23. Sydnee Wilkins