Skip to main content

WRFU 2023 Awards Night


Last Tuesday evening we showcased the standouts from this season at our 2023 WRFU Awards in the Norwood Room at the Basin Reserve.

WRFU Chair Russell Poole said the awards night is an event he always looks forward to as it brings together the rugby stalwarts from across the province.

“These awards are special because the people involved are from across our whole game. We have a combination of community and our high-performance sides which epitomises what we do in the province. There’s a lot of passionate people here about Wellington Rugby and it’s always great to see us all come together.”

Below, is the list of the 2023 WRFU Award Winners:


Sir William Perry Trophy
Highest average aggregate points per team

Winner: Tawa


Dewar Shield

Highest aggregate points

Winner: Petone


Referee of the Year

Winner: Tomas Roche


Club Coach of the Year

Winner: Mason Malagamaali’I (Oriental-Rongotai)


Club Team of the Year

Winner: Old Boys University U85kg Scallywags


Junior Club Volunteer

Winner: Stephen Cross (Avalon)


Senior Club Volunteer

Winner: Ezra Iupeli (Petone)


Board of Directors Award – This award recognises the sterling work and outcomes by the extensive rugby volunteer network in supporting our communities and growing active participation and enjoyment under the rugby banner. Throughout the season, Clubs have been accruing points based on criteria that has been aligned with the Board of Directors Seven Strategic Priorities.

Winner: Upper Hutt Rams


Club Rookie of the Year

Winner (Women): Bailey Nightingale (Petone)

Winner: (Men): Stanley Solomon (Petone)


Erin Rush Best & Fairest – Women’s Player of the Year Award)

Winner: Justine McGregor (Petone)


Billy Wallace Best & Fairest – Men’s Player of the Year Award

Winner: Stanley Solomon (Petone)





Women’s HPU Best Philosophy

Winner: Ivana Samani (Oriental-Rongotai)


Ken Comber Memorial Cup – Men’s Best Philosophy

Winner: Tofuka Paongo (Tawa)


Women’s HPU Best Performer

Winner: Maddie Feaunati (Marist St Pats)


Al Keown Award – Men’s Best Performer

Winner: Dominic Ropeti (Oriental-Rongotai)





U16 Player of the Year

Winner: Drew Berg-McLean (St Pat’s Silverstream)


U18 Girls Player of the Year

Winner: Keiana Roffey (Wellington Girls’ College)


U18 Boys Player of the Year

Winner: Harry Irving (Scots College)


U19 Player of the Year

Winner: Matolu Petaia (Tawa)


Development Player of the Year

Winner: Toby Crosby (Upper Hutt Rams)


Representative Referee of the Year

Winner: Jack Sargentina


Bill Freeman Cup – Representative Coach of the Year

Winner: Wellington Lions Coaching Staff


Pride Rookie of the Year

Winner: Sophie Irving & Harmony Kautai


Lions Rookie of the Year

Winner: Tjay Clarke


Pride Player of the Year

Winner: Monica Tagoai


Lions Supporters Club Award

Winner: Aidan Morgan


Lions Player of the Year Award

Winner: Losi Filipo