Skip to main content

Finalists announced for the 2022 Wellington Rugby Awards


The finalists for the 2022 Wellington Rugby Football Union Awards have been announced. 
The awards, which will be held on Tuesday 11 October, are a great opportunity to highlight and reward the unsung heroes within our community who work hard behind the scenes, as well as our high achieving players, coaches, managers and club members.  


For the first time in several years the Community and Representative awards evenings will be run as one. In all, 30 awards will be presented to players, coaches, clubs, and referees.   
The 2022 WRFU Community Rugby Awards finalists are: 

Referee of the Year: 

  • Jack Sargentina 

  • Matt Thomas

  • Tomas Roche 

Club Coach of the Year: 

  • Grainger Heikell (Northern United Premier Men’s) 

  • Ryan Piper (Petone Premier Men’s)  

  • Thomas George & Mark Cooper (Tawa Premier 2 Men’s) 

Club Team of the Year:  

  • Johnsonville Under 85kg 

  • Northern United Premier Men’s 

  • Petone Under 21  

  • Tawa Premier 2 Men’s 

Club Rugby Men’s Rookie of the Year:  

  • Pene To’o (Upper Hutt Rams RFC)

  • Siale Lauaki (Tawa RFC)

  • Toby Crosby (Upper Hutt Rams RFC) 

  • Tofuka Paongo (Tawa RFC) 

Club Rugby Women's Rookie of the Year: 

  • Arene Landon-Lane (Northern United RFC) 

  • Justine McGregor (Marist St Pats RFC) 

  • Kaia Pollock (Paremata-Plimmerton RFC) 

Junior Rugby Volunteer of the Year: 

  • Ainslee Jacobson (Poneke FC) 

  • Cherie Phelps (Paremata-Plimmerton RFC) 

  • Helen Hotai (Northern United RFC) 

Senior Rugby Volunteer of the Year: 

  • Dave Banks (Tawa RFC) 

  • Moana Kuma (Wainuiomata RFC) 

  • Susan Poutoa (Johnsonville RFC) 

  • Tom Anderson (Poneke FC) 

Other awards to be presented on the evening are: 

  • Men’s & Women’s High Performance Unit Awards 

  • Sir William Perry Memorial Trophy & Dewar Shield 

  • Under 16 Player of the Year 

  • Under 18 Girls Player of the Year 

  • Under 18 Boys Player of the Year 

  • Under 19 Player of the Year 

  • Wellington Centurions Development Player of the Year 

  • Board of Directors Cup for the Club that demonstrates the most positive contribution and image of Rugby in the Wellington Region 

  • Billy Wallace Memorial Trophy (Men’s Club Rugby Best & Fairest) 

  • Erin Rush Trophy (Women’s Club Rugby Best & Fairest) 

  • Representative Referee of the Year 

  • Bill Freeman Cup (Representative Coach of the Year) 

  • Pride & Lions Rookie of the Year 

  • Pride and Lions Player of the Year 

  • Junior & Senior Volunteers of the Year 

  • WRFU Lifetime Contribution Salver