Skip to main content

Wellington Under 16 Squads Named


The Wellington Rugby Player development team and our resource coaches were overwhelmed by the talent and enthusiasm of all players who attended our 2023 Williment week and are pleased to announce their 2023 tournament squads. 
The Black squad will be coached by John Herbert, Al Tetevano, Siu Anae and Karl Davis. Squad Gold will be coached by Norm Hewitt, Anthony O’Connell, Alexis Time & Aiden Cains. These squads will carry 24 players each to the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council U16 Tournament.  

With the talent we have, for the second year, we are pleased to announce our White squad, coached by Phil Katene, Otto Rasch, Josh Baldwin & John Schwalger, who will have matches against other Hurricanes provincial unions.  

This will be a larger squad and provide support and injury cover to the Black and Gold teams, allowing us to grow more players in this environment. We intend to have a Trainer and Physio aligned to each team. Teams will train Monday & Wednesday evening, time 6pm to 8pm at NZCIS Performance Institute Trentham Upper Hutt. 

All Parents and Players are invited to an induction & welcoming evening on Monday 7th August, 6.30pm at Petone Rugby Club, Udy Street, Petone. 


Carlos Taaga Anae (SBC), Ioane Aukusitino (SPC), Riley Brown (SPS), Issac Burford (SPS), Will Davis (SPS), Carisma Faitala (WC), Mako Ah Far (Tawa), Jacob Gibbs (HVHS), Richard Jones (Scots), Corban King (WC), Rio Kosaki (WC), Zacc Maguren (SPS), Osaiasi Manu (SPS), Teokotai Mataitai (SBC), Preston Moananu (SPS), Reweti Ngarimu (Scots), Jordon Russell (SPS), Z’Kdeus Schwalger (WC), Archie Sims (WC), Jesse Smiths (SBC), Faimalie Tagoai (SPC), Mylo Guthrie-Thiel (HIBS), Nelsson Tiumalu (SPC), Heath Tuifao (SPS) 



Emilio Bell (SPC), Shae Bosher (WC), Rhys Evans (HIBS), Bently Faulkner (WC), Naea Fiu (Ron), Tuiane Gaualofa (Ron), Cliffe Hunt jnr (Tawa), Noah Krijnen (SPS), Drew Berg Mclean (SPS), Steve Nunn (SPC), Kian O’Connell (SPS), Hayden Patu (Scots), Perenise Patu (SPC), Jeremiah Peleseuma (SPS), Elija Solomona (SPS), Johnathan Solomona (Ron), Zung lathaw (Aotea), MJ Tili (BVC), Taniela Tuangalu (PC), Tawhi Mahuri Tukukino (SPS), Junior Tupou (SPS), Dante Ford Tuveve (SPC), Tom Da Vanzo (Ron), Jericho Wharehinga (SPS) 



Joe Barry (WC), Hyrum Betham (UHC), Teddy Cooling (SPS), Ropeti Faatagi (HVHS), Sean Felise (Mana), Eddie Fraser (WC), Gerrard Van Helsdingin (SPS), Kingston Hill (SPS), Jazaius Kalolo (SPC), Finn Leighton (WC), Ethan Lepou (SPC), Brandon Lo (Scots), Connor Maxwell (SPC), Donncha McNamara Taele  (SPC), Jahrome Pearce-Orupe (SBC), Tamiti Payne (SPS), Ilalio Perez (SBC), Salvation Peupeu (New), Jay Philp (Ron), Thomas Pritchard (HIBS), Lorenz Strickland Rere (WC), Hoani Richards (SBC), TJ Robinson (Ron), Jack Robinson (WC), Kayan Samuela (Ron), Doug Sherrif (HIBS), Xavior Sola (Ron), William Stenhouse (SPC), Jack Stowers (SPS), Kitiona Talaepa (SPS), Giovanni Tukapua (SPS), Advent Vaa (Scots), Anthony Viagafa (Ron), Levi Walmsley (SPS), Lazarus Webster (WC),  Kingston Wright (SBC) 


Congratulations on your selection and good luck for the upcoming campaign.