Wellington Under 16 Development

Wellington are the current holders of the Saracens Cup.

This Cup is contested at the Hurricanes U16 tournament held every year in the Hurricanes Region.

Wellington Development compete for the cup in Division B along with East Coast, Hawkes Bay Development, Horowhenua-Kapiti, Wairarapa Bush, Wanganui.

This competition has been going since 2005 and Wellington have won the title 9 times in the 12 years. 


This year’s tournament will be held in Masterton.

Fixtures And Results

Date Versus Time Venue Result
Saturday 15 September   1.00pm Palmerston North

Win 24 to 10

Saturday 22 September   1.00pm Otaki

Win 64 to 14

1 - 4 October


Under 16 Tournament


2018 Saracens Cup Winners

1 Oct v Hawkes Bay Dev


2 Oct v Wairarapa Bush


4 Oct v 

2.00pm - Memorial Park Turf, Masterton


11.00am - Rathkeale # 2, Masterton


9.30am - Memorial Park Turf, Masterton

Loss 12 to 14


Win 38 to 24


Win 40 to 20

Team Management

Head Coach
Phillip Kauika
Backs Coach
Richard Preston
Peter West
Alex Taimalietane
Mike Ngan-Kee
Sheldon Stephenson

2018 Wellington U16 Development Team


Fuli Kupa

Joyner Gaualofa

Elijah Maene-Lokeni


Jonathan Bailey


Pati Olive

Tyrone Puluka


Phoenix James-Kapa

Calvin Siaosi

Maea Tema-Schmidt


Heilyn Tuia

Jono Little


Michael Matagi

Jona Bartley


Jovie Andrews

Ariki Hohepa

Sione Valu


Tom Walsh

Khya Wilson

Moses Tuifao-Gaualofa

Christian Stenhouse


Levi Smith

Andrew Saú


George Sims

Jerome Otutaha