Wellington Under 16A

Wellington are the current holders of the Don Broughton Shield.

This shield is contested at the Hurricanes U16 tournament held every year in the Hurricanes Region.

Wellington compete for this shield in Division A along with Manawatu, Hawkes Bay & Poverty Bay.

This competition has been going since 1972 and Wellington have won the title 16 times in the 45 years. Only Hawkes Bay have won more titles with 21.


This years tournament will be held in Masterton.

Fixtures And Results

Date Versus Time Venue Result
Saturday 15 September


CET, Palmerston North

Win 43 to 31

Saturday 22 September



1 - 4 October

Under 16 Tournament


2017 Don Broughton Shield Winners

1 Oct v Poverty Bay

2 Oct v Hawkes Bay

4 Oct v 




Team Management

Head Coach
Willie Leota
Assistant Coach
Simon Culley
Resource Coach
Koji Shigeeda
Mike Parker
Assistant Manager
Danny Merito
Alex Taimalietane
Mike Ngan-Kee
Sheldon Stevenson

2018 Wellington U16A Team

Owen Wright

Leyton Tapa


Jordan Iremonger

Jabez Peniata

John Samuelu

Jonty Bird

Kueva Samoa

Oryaan Kalolo

Sase Va'a

Sione Halalilo

Junior Tefoto

Tana Rangiwhetu

Bradley Crichton

Dominic Ropeti

Luke Walmsley

Michael Taliau

Noah Tuifao-Galuvao

Ronaldo Seumanofagai


Mitch Southall

Peter Lakai

Riley Higgins

Tony Solomona


Kilifi Malungahu


Toby Cook