Wellington XV named to meet Tasman in pre-season match

|   News

Experienced loose forward Galu Taufale will lead a Wellington XV against Tasman in a pre-season match at the Hutt Recreation Ground on Wednesday 3 July.

Head coach Chris Gibbes has named a 26-man squad for the match which features a number of players who will be pushing for a spot in the Lions Mitre 10 Cup squad.

Experienced utility back Trent Renata will start at first five-eighth, playing outside Lions halfback Kemara Hauiti-Parapara.

There is some experience on the bench with Lions No 8 Teariki Ben-Nicholas while New Zealand Under-20 lock Taine Plumtree has also been named in the reserves.

The Wellington XV to meet Tasman at the Hutt Recreation Ground at 2.30pm is:

1              Morgan Poi - Old Boys University

2              James O’Reilly - Hutt Old Boys Marist

3              Ben Aumua-Peseta - Tawa

4              Naitoa Ah Kuoi - Marist St Pats

5              Lui Luamanu - Upper Hutt Rams

6              Galu Taufale (Captain) - Poneke

7              James Tuiatua - Marist St Pats

8              Lise Soloa - Hutt Old Boys Marist

9              Kemara Hauiti-Parapara - Tawa

10           Trent Renata - Oriental-Rongotai

11           Fereti Soloa - Hutt Old Boys Marist

12           Tom Maiava - Tawa

13           Malachai Unasa - Oriental-Rongotai

14           Nash Fiso - Hutt Old Boys Marist

15           Connor Garden-Bachop - Northern United



16           Tyronne Thompson - Marist St Pats

17           Sitiveni Paongo - Tawa

18           Luke Chisholm - Upper Hutt Rams

19           Hugo Plummer - Tawa

20           Charlie Gubb - Marist St Pats

21           Teariki Ben-Nicholas - Old Boys University

22           Tom Horan - Marist St Pats

23           Connor Collins - Hutt Old Boys Marist

24           Kyle Preston - Tawa

25           Kienan Higgins - Northern United

26           Reuben Va’a - Oriental-Rongotai