Wellington Pride training squad announced

|   News

Head Coach of the Wellington Pride, Ross Bond, says he’s spoilt for choice when it comes to picking his Farah Palmer Cup squad this season.

Forty-nine women have been named in an initial group, which will be whittled down to 35 over the next three weeks.

“It’s really quite an embarrassment of riches for the Wellington Pride this year. Not only have we got players who’ve been critical to our successful campaigns over the last couple of years, but we’ve also got players who’ve come back from overseas and injury.”

In the squad are Monica Tagoai, Dhys Faleafaga, Marcelle Parkes, Ayesha Leti-I’iga, Joanah Ngan-Woo and Jackie Patea-Fereti who have all spent time in the Black Ferns environment

But Bond says the depth of talent this year is like nothing he’s ever experienced.

“I’m incredibly excited about working with these athletes this year. The only downside is that I know I’ve got some seriously hard decisions to make.”

The group of 49 will assemble for their first training at Poneke Football Club on Monday, 17 August at 6pm and then embark on their two-day camp over the following weekend.

With only three weeks until the Pride takes on Otago at Porirua Park, Bond says there’s plenty of work to do and not much time to do it.

“The rubber really is about to hit the road for these players. The countdown to the start of the FPC season is well and truly underway.”

The Wellington Pride wider squad is:

Mata Taafua - HOBM

Tyler Bentley - HOBM

Ana Afuie - MSP

Caitlyn Taniela - MSP

Cheyne Copeland - MSP

Jane Bryce - MSP

Lyric Faleafaga - MSP

Marcelle Parkes - MSP

Monica Tagoai - MSP

Saraya O’Dea - MSP

Dhys Faleafaga - Norths

Dora Laupola - Norths

Harmony Ioane - Norths

Kolora Lomani - Norths

Nina Foaese - Norths

Sanita Levave - Norths

Syntyche Tuimaolo - Norths

Te Amohaere Ngata-Aerengamate - Norths

Vaine Marsters - Norths

Emily Dalley - OBU

Georgia Daals - OBU

Moana Solia - OBU

Montana Heslop - OBU

Thamsyn Newton - OBU

Amanda Rasch - Ories

Ayesha Leti-I'iga - Ories

Barbra Taumoli - Ories

Bernadette Robertson - Ories

Charlene Gubb - Ories

Evelyn Tea - Ories

Fa'asua Makisi - Ories

Janet Taumoli - Ories

Joanah Ngan-Woo - Ories

Josephine Falesita - Ories

Precious Auimatagi - Ories

Rejieli Uluinayau - Ories

Sinead Toala-Ryder - Ories

Tina Paulo - Ories

Acacia Claridge-Te Iwimate - Pare-Plim

Alia Ah Far - Pare-Plim

Lavinia Lea - Pare-Plim

Alice Soper - Petone

Alicia Print - Petone

Angel Uila - Petone

Jackie Patea-Fereti - Petone

Milly Mackey - Petone

Soraya Umaga-Jensen - Petone

Rebekkah Carter - Poneke