Lions team to face Manawatu at Sky Stadium named

|   News

Wellington Lions head coach, Leo Crowley, has made a handful of changes to his side ahead of their clash against Manawatu at Sky Stadium.

Saturday marks the last of the round robin fixtures, before the Mitre 10 Cup marks its semi-finalists for 2020.

The Lions will be hoping to bounce back after suffering a 34 – 18 loss to Hawke’s Bay a week ago, which also cost them a chance at the Ranfurly Shield.

Head coach, Leo Crowley, says whilst the team was disappointed at that result, this week poses new challenges and so they have had to bury the hatchet and move on.

“The mindset this week is to beat Manawatu and remain in the premiership. It can be nothing else. This competition is so tight you can be near the top one week and bottom the next.”

Among Crowley’s changes, Caleb Delany, returns from injury to take up a starting position as lock.

But it’s further back that’s seen the biggest re-jig.

Julian Savea moves into second-five, meaning Pepesana Patafilo finds himself back on the wing. Meanwhile, Billy Proctor comes forward to the midfield and Trent Renata has been named as starting fullback.

Kick-off is 2:05pm.

The Wellington Lions team to face the Manawatu Turbos at Sky Stadium is:

1              Xavier Numia

2              James O’Reilly

3              Alex Fidow

4              Vaea Fifita

5              James Blackwell

6              Caleb Delany

7              Mateaki Kafatolu

8              Teariki Ben-Nicholas

9              Kemara Hauiti-Parapara

10           Jackson Garden-Bachop

11           Pepesana Patafilo

12           Julian Savea

13           Billy Proctor

14           Wes Goosen

15           Trent Renata


16           Tyrone Thompson

17           Morgan Poi

18           Kaliopasi Uluilakepa

19           Naitoa Ah Kuoi

20           Sam Smith

21           Connor Collins

22           Vince Aso

23           Connor Garden-Bachop