Finalists announced for 2020 Community Rugby Awards

|   News

The finalists for the 2020 Wellington Rugby Football Union Community Rugby Awards have been announced.

The awards, which will be held on Tuesday 17 November, are a great opportunity to highlight and reward the unsung heroes within our community who work hard behind the scenes, as well as our high achieving club members and hardworking committee members.

Considering the unique challenges COVID-19 presented, we’re pleased to be able to run this in-person event and get our community together one last time for 2020. Given continuing constraints, things will be slightly different this year with additional awards being presented due to a lighter rep rugby season.

In all, 19 awards will be presented, including the Men’s & Women’s Club Rookies and Best & Fairest players, club team and club coach of the year, and the main award; WRFU Lifetime Contribution Salver. 

The awards are also the right time to recognise some of the many outstanding volunteers we have in the game - both at junior and senior level.

The 2020 WRFU Community Rugby Awards finalists are:

Referee of the Year:

  • Richard Gordon
  • Nick Hogan
  • Daniel Mangin

Junior Rugby Volunteer of the Year:

  • Anka Browne (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
  • Annemie Otto (Paremata-Plimmerton)
  • Kirstyn Crawford (Petone)
  • Craig LeQuesne (Western Suburbs)

Senior Rugby Volunteer of the Year:

  • Troy O’Kane (Avalon)
  • Willie Davis (Eastbourne)
  • Maree Chivers (Old Boys University)
  • Wayne Smith (Petone)
  • Graeme Hardie (Stokes Valley)

Club Coach of the Year:

  • Barry Luke (Eastbourne U85kg Restricted)
  • Dallas Paotonu & Mark Brewis (Old Boys University Colts Green)
  • Mason Malagamaali'i (Oriental Rongotai Women)
  • Dan Olive (Stokes Valley Premier Reserves)

Club Team of the Year: 

  • Northern United Premier Reserves
  • Old Boys University Colts Green
  • Oriental Rongotai Women
  • Upper Hutt U85kg Restricted

Men’s Club Rookie of the Year: 

  • Aidan Morgan (Marist St Pats)
  • Roderick Solo (Oriental Rongotai)
  • Ethan Webster-Nonu (Oriental Rongotai)
  • Ruben Love (Wainuiomata)

Women's Club Rookie of the Year:

  • Amania Mafi (Avalon)
  • Josephine Falesita (Oriental Rongotai)
  • Charlene Gubb (Oriental Rongotai)
  • Saraya O'Dea (Marist St Pats)

Other awards to be presented on the evening, but without nominees, are:

  • WRFU Lifetime Contribution Salver
  • Dewar Shield & Sir William Perry Memorial Trophy
  • The Club Community Award 
  • Billy Wallace Memorial Trophy (Men’s Best & Fairest)
  • Women’s Best & Fairest
  • Men's & Women’s Sevens Player of the Year
  • Men’s & Women’s High Performance Unit Awards